Does anyone here have experience with acousticfields.com or with true pressure traps?

Crossram

Dec 18, 2013
I am preparing to build a two channel listening room in my basement. Planned dimensions are 17’X23’X10’. Perfect chance to get it right since it is to be built from scratch. One chance if you will.

I have some experience with velocity traps (absorption), enough to know that when using typical absorption products, it is nearly impossible to effectively address room bass nodes without creating an acoustically dead room since fiberglass and rock wool traps are exceptionally efficient at absorbing mid and high frequencies and exceptionally inefficient at absorbing low and even mid-bass frequencies.

After checking out several companies online that specialize in room treatment, Acoustic Fields (acousticfields.com) stood out to me because they design and build pressure traps that precisely target specific frequencies (vs the broad-band behavior of velocity/absorptive traps) based on mathematical modeling identifying exactly where and what frequencies of acoustic anomalies will occur in a specific room and matching frequency-specific pressure traps in the exact room locations that reduce/eliminate problem nodes at the listening position without affecting non-target frequencies as velocity/absorptive traps do.

This approach promises to get quite expensive. I am wondering if anyone here has any experience with Acoustic Fields (or installing/using pressure traps) that would provide helpful input regarding their experiences.

Mike Lavigne

Member Sponsor & WBF Founding Member
Apr 25, 2010
i met Dennis 10 years ago, and i do think his views on acoustics are valid. but as you can read below, his customers don't appear to be satisfied, especially in the ROI and timely follow-thru parts. so be careful.

i am not his customer, but did hear his own room 10 years ago (in Phoenix) and was impressed.

Last edited:

MarkusBarkus

Feb 6, 2021